Dr. Harrie Vredenburg

Board Chair

Dr. Harrie Vredenburg has been a Professor of Strategy at the University of Calgary’s Haskayne School of Business since 1994 and currently holds the Suncor Energy Chair in Strategy and Sustainability. Dr. Vredenburg also holds an appointment as an International Research Fellow at Oxford University’s Said Business School and is the Academic Director of the Haskayne Global Energy Executive MBA. Besides serving as an advisor to corporations and governments, Dr. Vredenburg is a non-executive member of the board of directors of Touchstone Exploration Inc., a TSX-listed technology-focused oil company with operations in Canada and Trinidad and Tobago and of Kainji Resources, a private Nigeria-focused oil company. Previously he served for eight years on the board of directors of Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd., a TSX-listed mid-cap technology-focused oil and gas company with operations in Canada, Colombia, Peru and Brazil. Dr. Vredenburg holds a PhD in Strategic Management from the University of Western Ontario, a MBA in International Business and Finance from McMaster University and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in History from the University of Toronto. He holds the ICD.D designation as a certified corporate director from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

John Ell

Board Member

John has worked in the power generation industry for 35+ years, and brings strong leadership experience, industry insight and strategy to the TERIC Board. John was President of ATCO Power between 2010-2014, joining ATCO in 1978 and has held several increasingly progressive senior operating and management positions within the company. John has worked at all stages within the asset lifecycle including design, start-ups and operational oversight of some of the most significant operating assets within Alberta. John holds an Honours Certificate in Power Engineering from the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology as well as a First Class Engineer’s Certificate of Competency. John Has previously served on the Board of ABSA including Chair.

Brian Hunter

Board Member

Brian is an independent businessman active in a variety of industries. He is the founder, President and a director of Windy Field Ltd., a consulting company with investments and operations in land, cattle, farming and energy properties in Alberta. Brian was a founder, Director, Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of Bashaw Oil Ltd., a private oil and gas company from March 2009 to September 2014, and was also a founder, Director and Vice-President of Montane Resources Ltd. and Brigus Resources Ltd., both private companies involved in natural gas exploration and production in Alberta. Brian studied engineering at the University of Calgary and is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta.

Bruce Brander

Board Member

Bruce has over 40 years of experience as a professional engineer and lawyer in Alberta. His education includes BSc in Civil Engineering (with Distinction), MSc in Transportation Planning and a LLB. Bruce is a member of the Law Society of Alberta, the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta and the Institute of Transportation Engineers.