Board of Directors

Dr. Harrie Vredenburg

Board Chair

Dr. Harrie Vredenburg has been a Professor of Strategy at the University of Calgary’s Haskayne School of Business since 1994 and currently holds the Suncor Energy Chair in Strategy and Sustainability. Dr. Vredenburg also holds an appointment as an International Research Fellow at Oxford University’s Said Business School and is the Academic Director of the Haskayne Global Energy Executive MBA. Besides serving as an advisor to corporations and governments, Dr. Vredenburg is a non-executive member of the board of directors of Touchstone Exploration Inc., a TSX-listed technology-focused oil company with operations in Canada and Trinidad and Tobago and of Kainji Resources, a private Nigeria-focused oil company. Previously he served for eight years on the board of directors of Petrobank Energy and Resources Ltd., a TSX-listed mid-cap technology-focused oil and gas company with operations in Canada, Colombia, Peru and Brazil. Dr. Vredenburg holds a PhD in Strategic Management from the University of Western Ontario, a MBA in International Business and Finance from McMaster University and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in History from the University of Toronto. He holds the ICD.D designation as a certified corporate director from the Institute of Corporate Directors. 

Brian Hunter

Board Member

Brian is an independent businessman active in a variety of industries. He is the founder, President and a director of Windy Field Ltd., a consulting company with investments and operations in land, cattle, farming and energy properties in Alberta. Brian was a founder, Director, Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of Bashaw Oil Ltd., a private oil and gas company from March 2009 to September 2014, and was also a founder, Director and Vice-President of Montane Resources Ltd. and Brigus Resources Ltd., both private companies involved in natural gas exploration and production in Alberta. Brian studied engineering at the University of Calgary and is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta. 


Bruce Brander

Board Member

Bruce has over 40 years of experience as a professional engineer and lawyer in Alberta. His education includes BSc in Civil Engineering (with Distinction), MSc in Transportation Planning and a LLB. Bruce is a member of the Law Society of Alberta, the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta and the Institute of Transportation Engineers.


Tom Chapman

Board Member

Tom is a co-founder of TERIC and has been Vice-President, Engineering since December 2013. Tom is an electrical engineer with over 30 years of Canadian and international experience in the oil and gas, pulp and paper, and power generation industries. Tom has an extensive technical knowledge and understanding of the AESO regulatory requirements and transmission and distribution infrastructure, as well as in operating distributed generation projects. Prior to joining TERIC, Tom worked for a variety of clients in an electrical engineering capacity, both within the owner’s team and as a consultant through IMV, EGR Resources and SNC Lavalin. Tom has a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering and Electrical Engineering Technologist designation from Lakehead University.